We can pretend

Maybe I can take you home just for tonight, just this once and we can fake feeling alive in each other’s arms

Maybe you can hum a song as I rest my head on your lap and I’d finally fall asleep over resltess nights of regrets and sorrows

Or I can hold you and kiss your lips and pretend we’re not strangers so I could breathe again from cold chains holding me by the heart

And I’ll kiss your neck from your jaw to the bone above your chest to relive the feelings I had before enough to keep me awake at night

I’ll explore your body like I’d find familiarity and calmness way I used to when she wrapped me in embrace

And you can tell my why you’re in a place like this, dripped in tears when you whisper to me someone else’s name

Maybe we can stay like this just for tonight, just this once and we can pretend we’re holding somebody else until sunrise

Leave a Reply

